Uncategorized

Feminist


(Comic by: beiibis.tumblr.com)

I grew up with my mom dragging my siblings and I to church every Sunday. It wasn’t until I was in high school that I started going on my own and figuring out what Christianity meant.

I attended a private Christian university with people from every denomination, where things can vary a bit.
I never really knew where I stood on feminism, or really what it meant. Yes, I wanted (and still want) women to have equal rights, but the image I had of feminism equated to hating men. Then after researching, reading articles, blog posts, etc. I came to the conclusion that I am a feminist.

Now how does this coincide with a religion that seems to be male-driven and excludes women? In my 22 years of life, I have been very fortunate to have never experienced being told I couldn’t pursue something because I am female. Yet I’m sick of my peers being told otherwise.

The churches I have been part of always encouraged women in leadership roles and following their calling of whatever that may be, whether that’s in ministry or a completely different career. Encouraging this is just one part, it must always be reflected in the church’s leadership and speakers, which is one part I have failed to see. It’s one thing to say, we encourage women, but another to actually see those roles played out.

It’s great to talk about feminism, and even better to encourage it, but if people still aren’t hiring women to take those positions they’ve earned, it falls flat.
Also making women fit this ideal of what we’re supposed to look and act like.
I hate the phrase “Act like a lady, think like a boss.” Act how you see best for your career, and think in a professional, efficient manner.

I hope one day this conversation becomes a thing of the past and women feel encouraged and able to live up to their full potential.

Leave a Reply

