TV

Why I love Jane the Virgin and you should too!

Vaguely knowing the plot of Jane the Virgin, I was convinced I wasn’t going to watch it. Then Gina Rodriguez won the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a TV Comedy and I thought I should give it a try and I’m SO GLAD I did.

This has quickly become my new favorite show and one that I make sure to watch live and only live-tweet during commercial breaks because I can’t even miss a second of it.

Why is this show so great? It has everything.
Drama, romance, funny and heartfelt moments, life lessons – all without being overly dramatic.

Jane the Virgin is a loose adaptation of a Venezuelan telenovela Juana de la Virgen, so that’s why the twists and turns can seem soap opera-ish, but the acting is so real, you don’t feel like you’re watching a soap opera.
But just like in soap operas (I’m assuming here, I’ve never actually watched one) you’re never quite sure who to trust.

Gina Rodriguez carries the show wonderfully and the rest of the cast does not disappoint either.

(gif source: talesofnorth.tumblr.com)

It’s also wonderful to see such a diverse cast, along with seeing the amazing support from the Latino community with famous guest stars like Paulina Rubio, Juanes, and just joining the list, Rita Moreno!
The last Latina lead show on cable TV was Ugly Betty starring America Ferrera, who also won the Golden Globe in 2007 for the same category.

My only hope is that as time goes on, the plot twists don’t get too gimmicky or soap opera-y. They currently have this great balance of drama and realism, and to keep this show a hit – it should stay that way.

Jane the Virgin currently airs on the CW on Mondays at 9/8c

Leave a Reply

